top of page

Who is AFVGA?

The Alabama Fruit and Vegetable Growers Association (AFVGA) aims to promote, advance, and protect the growing, harvesting and marketing of fruits and vegetables. Our strategic goals are to:

  1. Support family farms and local food systems through education and support services.

  2. Participate in specialty crop policy and advocacy in the state/region/nation.

  3. Enhance marketing and promotion of Alabama specialty crops.

  4. Build collaboration across industry and regional groups.

  5. Create public value to keep the organization relevant in future.



The AFVGA Board of directors consists of ten directors, eleven if the past president chooses to participate, and are elected by the membership at the annual general business meeting. 

Dr. Arlie Powell (President)

Petals of the Past, Chilton County


Larry LouAllen (Vice President)

LouAllen Farm, Lawrence County


Kent Isom (Sectretary/Treasurer)

Isom Orchard, Limestone County


Joe Lambrecht (Past President)

Oakview Farms, Elmore County


Beth Hornsby 

Hornsby Farms, Lee County


Pete Baker

Four Mile Farms Produce, Talladega County


Julia McLeod

McLeod Family Farms, Cleburne County


Craig Goolsby

Silverhill Satsuma, Baldwin County


Jimmy Ferguson

Ferguson Farms LLC, Washington County

Destiny Allman-Gladden

Allman Farms & Orchards, Blount County

Taylor Hatchett

Boozer Farms, Chilton County


Blake Thaxton (Executive Director)


Chip East (Educational Advisor)

© 2024. Alabama Fruit & Vegetable Growers Association

  • Facebook
bottom of page